Rio Abajo Conservation Area

240 acres adjacent to the Rio Grande south of Belen donated to the District in 2006 and held in joint conservatorship with the NM Department of Game & Fish.

This area includes both bosque and uplands terrain that VSWCD intends to preserve as a wildlife sanctuary with public access. RACA restoration activities will include removal of nonnative species, such as salt cedar and Russian olive, and planting of native grasses, trees, and shrubs in riparian and uplands areas for preservation of natural habitat and biodiversity.

Rio Abajo Conservation Area Powerpoint
Rio Abajo Conservation Area Habitat Rest[...]
Microsoft Power Point presentation [11.4 MB]

Get in Touch      

Valencia SWCD

PO Box 170

Belen, NM 87002

 

Offices:

Whitfield Wildlife Conservation Area
2424 Hwy 47
Belen, NM  87002

505-864-8914
valenciaswcd@live.com

   Get Social With Us

Recommend this page on:

2017 Holiday Schedule
Office will be closed in observance of these days.

Monday January 2, 2017 - New Year's Day (observed)    

Monday January 16, 2017 - Martin Luther King Day  

Monday February 20, 2017 - Presidents' Day    

Monday May 29, 2017 - Memorial Day    

Tuesday July 4, 2017 - Independence Day    

Monday September 4, 2017 - Labor Day    

Monday October 9, 2017 - Columbus Day    

Friday November 10, 2017 - Veterans Day (observed)    

Thursday November 23, 2017 - Thanksgiving Day    
 

Monday December 25, 2017 - Christmas Day

Print Print | Sitemap
© Valencia SWCD